Autobiography

I did not use my race, or sexuality as defining moments in my autobiography.  I feel that I did not, because I had not felt confident enough to openly identify myself by my sexuality.   I am white, female, married and the mother of three beautiful children.  I am definitely privileged.  I felt comfortable with giving my Chinese students English names, and justified it by stating it would allow them to further be a part of the English learning community that they so wanted to become. How horrifying to think that I wouldn’t even second guess stripping away their Chinese identity.  What a terrible practice.

In my autobiography I spoke about an abusive relationship that I was in when I was younger.  I am finding it quite powerful to notice that I was more okay with sharing about how I was abused, then I was speaking about my bisexuality.  I chose to share this aspect of myself in our assignment, as I mustered enough strength by that point. Having an abusive relationship in your past is more accepted than being queer; how very peculiar.

At the end of page 41, Kumashiro provides a lens for us to further dissect how we are being shaped as teachers.  We must make sure that, in order to truly provide an environment where we are promoting change and understanding, we are recognizing all of the biases and baggage we come to the classroom with.  What makes us ready and willing to take on unjust behavior? What are we really scared of?  Greatest of all, what will happen if we do nothing?  We must grow from the place of discomfort that we feel, and truly make social change.

One thought on “Autobiography

  1. Kaylene, I really appreciate your honesty and frankness in approaching these issues! It does seem bizarre that being in an abusive relationship would be more accepted than being queer. Hopefully we can help students in our classroom to become more accepting of all sexual preferences and to know that they will not face discrimination or judgment if they wish to share that aspect of themselves. The questions you pose are really challenging, but necessary. If we identify what scares us and ask ourselves why it scares us, we can start working through those discomforting areas. Asking ourselves what will happen if we do nothing gives us motivation because we then have to recognize the hidden messages we will send. How can we help our students learn through discomfort in the same way we are challenging ourselves to learn through discomfort?

Leave a comment